(06.02.2024) A significant change has been introduced in World Rally Championship with the beginning of 2024 season. With brand-new points system it is not said that event winners are to be the crew who scores the most points as it happened in Rally Sweden, round two of the series.

Previously, points were awarded based on the overall rally results to ten top-placed crews, as follows: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1. Additional five points could be scored on Power Stage, the final test of the event. The fastest crew earned five points, while four next placed scored 4-3-2 and 1 point respectively.

The goal of the changes is to intensify the competition, especially during the final day of the event. However, the maximum number (30) of points possible to score during WRC round did not change.

Since the beginning of 2024 FIA WRC season points are awarded to the overall top 10 crews in following order: 18-15-13-10-8-6-4-3-2-1. Nevertheless, to secure these points, competitors must finish the rally on Sunday. In case of a non-finish, the points pass to the next eligible competitor.

On Sunday the crew can grab as many as 12 points. 7 are at stake for the fastest crew in the classification of final leg, with 6-5-4-3-2 and 1 point awarded to next six competitors. This was introduced to encourage drivers to push on Sunday, instead of saving tyres for the Power Stage.

The system score of the final stage of the event remains unchanged. Points are distributed to the five fastest drivers as follows: 5-4-3-2-1.

The first two events of the season have already proven how new scoring rules affected season standings. Season-opening Rallye Monte Carlo, held on twisty tarmac stages around French city of Gap, was won by Hyundai Motorsport crew – Thierry Neuville and Martijn Wydaeghe. Belgian duo was first overall after Saturday’s leg and showed best pace on Sunday. In consequence they scored a maximum possible number of 30 points.

Second placed Sebastien Ogier and Vincent Landais (Toyota GR Yaris Rally1) earned 24 points (15+5+4). Elfyn Evans and Scott Martin (Toyota GR Yaris Rally1), third overall, scored 21 points (13+6+2). These results would be possible in previous scoring system. The differences can be spotted down the leaderboard. Andreas Mikkelsen and Torstein Eriksen (Hyundai i20N Rally1) managed to finish sixth overall, what gave them six points. Meanwhile Takamoto Katsuta and Aaron Johnston (Toyota GR Yaris Rally1) took seventh overall and scored… nine points. This was possible as they earned four points on Saturday and another five on Sunday (4+2+3).

Rally Sweden, the second round of the series, provided clearer example. The winners – Esapekka Lappi and Janne Ferm (Hyundai i20N Rally1) were awarded with 19 points, with 18 of them scored on Saturday. Evans and Martin took second overall in the only winter rally of the season, but they managed to get more points than Finnish duo. British crew left Swedish city of Umea with 24 points (13+7+4). Both third placed crew – Adrien Fourmaux/Alexandre Coria (Ford Puma Rally1) and fourth overall

Neuville and Wydaeghe pocketed 18 points, just one point less than event winners.

Meanwhile reigning world champions – Kalle Rovanpera and Jonne Halttunen (Toyota GR Yaris Rally1) finished 45th overall, but scored some points on Sunday (6+5), so in terms of points they were better than Oliver Solberg and Elliot Edmondson (Skoda Fabia RS Rally2), who came fifth overall.

New scoring system is a bit more complicated than previous one. However, the first two rounds have proven it has potential to spice up the battle on final day of the event. How it’s going to work in Poland? We will see during the last weekend of June, when ORLEN 80th Rally Poland will be held.