(04.06.2024) World’s best rally crews will come to picturesque town of Mikolajki to compete in 80th, jubilee edition of ORLEN Rally Poland. On the list there are names of factory teams’ crews in Rally1 (RC2) cars, including two world rally champions and strong field of competitors equipped with Rally2 machinery (RC2). Two ORLEN Team crews – Kajetanowicz/Szczepaniak and Marczyk/Gospodarczyk will also tackle fast Masurian stages. 44 crews in total entered 7th round of 2024 World Rally Championship with competitors from 23 countries.

Championship leader Thierry Neuville (co-driver: Martijn Wydaeghe, Hyundai i20 N Rally1 Hybrid), second-placed Ott Tanak (co-driver: Martin Jarveoja, Hyundai i20 N Rally1 Hybrid) and Elfyn Evans, holding third overall (co-driver: Scott Martin, Toyota GR Yaris Rally1 Hybrid), are the main title contenders in 2024 season. This means that Polish WRC counter is their next stop in championship race.

8-time world rally champion Sebastien Ogier (co-driver: Vincent Landais, Toyota GR Yaris Rally1 Hybrid), running a part-time program this season, have decided to compete in Poland too. 40-year-old Frenchman has two Rally Poland victories under his belt.

Another Rally Poland winner in field of entrants is Andreas Mikkelsen (co-driver: Torstein Erikssen), representing Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT. Third Toyota GR Yaris Rally1 Hybrid will be driven by Takamoto Katsuta (co-driver: Aaron Johnston).

M-Sport Ford WRT entered ORLEN 80th Rally Poland with two Ford Puma’s Rally1 Hybrid prepared for Adrien Fourmaux and Grégoire Munster (co-driven by Alexandre Coria and Louis Louka respectively).

Sebastien Ogier scored his two Rally Poland victories in four outings. Ogier was the fastest in 2014 and 2015, driving Volkswagen Polo R WRC. In 2016 season Andreas Mikkelsen completed Rally Poland hat-trick for Volkswagen team, taking the lead on the penultimate stage of the event. The last edition as WRC round (2017) was won by Thierry Neuville.

Polish WRC counter has never been a lucky event for 2019 World Rally Champion Ott Tanak. Estonian driver three times had a victory in his sight, but his first-ever Rally Poland win is still to come. Meanwhile it will be maiden Rally Poland outing for Katsuta and Formaux. 25-year old Munster have already competed on Masurian gravel stages two times, but not behind the wheel of World Rally Car.

There are more Rally Poland winners on the entry list. Miko Marczyk, Nikolay Gryazin (2018) and Mārtiņš Sesks (2023) won the event when it was ERC round. Kajetan Kajetanowicz has three wins to his name. Three-time European Rally Champion took the victories in 2010, 2011 and 2013 season.

I am delighted to compete in ORLEN 80th Rally Poland and proud to drive with Polish flag on home soil. It’s going to be a great event not only for the fans, but for the crews too. We will compete on the special stages, but with common goal – to entertain spectators around the world. I just can’t wait to push the throttle. We worked hard to be ready

said Kajetanowicz.

Kajetanowicz and Marczyk will compete against 23 rivals in Rally2 cars, including fast and well-known drivers like Oliver Solberg, Sami Pajari, Lauri Jona, Gus Greensmith, Martin Prokop, Pierre-Louis Loubet and Teemu Suninen.

ORLEN 80th Rally Poland does not count towards Polish Rally Championship (RSMP), but as many as 12 Polish crews decided to enter the event.

The entry list was revealed during press conference, which took place in Warsaw on 4th of June. Moreover, the organisers shared the updates on event’s preparations as well as information regarding spectators’ safety, fan zones and facilities for disabled people.

Safety is our top priority. Thanks to Mikolaj Marczyk and Kajetan Kajetanowicz we could reach many fans with our safety messages. I hope that everybody will join us in these efforts. There will be hundreds of professional marshals along the route. Please follow their instructions

said Michal Sikora, the president of Polish Automobile and Motorcycle Federation.

We have been cooperating with Polish ASN for 15 years and now we are about to run another edition of Rally Poland together. This is a huge merit for us. Our efforts are focused on both safety and ecology. We have prepared a record-breaking number of fan zones, including the ones ready to host disabled spectators

said Andrzej Krol, owner of Top Racing, a commercial partner of Rally Poland.

Moreover, rally organisers cooperate with Avalon Foundation, which supports disabled drivers as Sebastian Luty mentioned:

I am the president of Avalon Foundation. 95% of my body is paralysed. Huge respect for the organisers for noticing my efforts to change an image of disabled people. This proves awareness and social responsibility of Polish ASN.

ORLEN 80th Rally Poland entry list