Co-financed by the state budget from the part administered by the Minister of Sport and Tourism.
Task on „Supporting the promotion of sport by co-financing the organization of championship events in Poland in 2022”.

Twice Marczyk, once Solans

(11.06.2022) Solans, Marczyk and Kristensson are ORLEN 78th Rally Poland frontrunners after four special stages. On Saturday’s morning Marczyk took two stage wins, while Solans answered by winning Wieliczki – the longest test of the event.

Three stages were run in morning loop: Krzywe (15,2 km), Wojnasy (12,87 km) and Wieliczki (24,36 km). The surface of the stages was mostly dry.

Three crews set the pace on Saturday morning: Solans/Marti (Hyundai i20 Rally2), Marczyk/Gospodarczyk (Skoda Fabia Rally2 evo) and Kristensson/Johansson (Hyundai i20 R5).

It was Marczyk who clocked the fastest time on day-opening Krzywe test, but Solans and Kristensson were just 0,7 and 1,9 sec slower than Pole. Adrian Chwietczuk was the second fastest driver from Poland. Co-driven by Damian Syty, Chwietczuk managed to set 7th fastest through 15,2 km course of Krzywe stage (+12,6 s).

Marczyk took another stage win on Wojnasy test. However, Solans and Kristensson were close again. Spaniard finished just 0,2 sec adrift of stage winner, while Kristennson needed 3,1 sec more to cover the stage.

Just like it was expected, Wieliczki stage proved to be crucial in this intense, high-speed gravel battle. Nil Solans pushed hard and won the 24,36-kilometre-long test, beating Ken Torn/Kauri Pannas by a 3,5 sec. Second placed Estonians drive Ford Fiesta Rally2 prepared by polish team C-Rally. Marczyk was 4,6 sec slower than Solans, while Kristensson scored fourth result (+7,4 s).

After four stages of ORLEN 78th Rally Poland Nil Solans tops the leaderboard with 4,6 sec advantage over second-placed Marczyk. Kristensson holds third overall, 11,7 sec adrift of the rally leader. Torn and Pannas are currently fourth (+19,0 sec), followed by FIA ERC standings leaders Efren Llarena and Sara Fernandez (Skoda Fabia Rally2 evo, +22,7 s).


ORLEN 78. Rally Poland – standings after SS 4:

1. Solans/Marti (ESP/ESP, Hyundai i20 Rally2) 27:53,8 s

2. Marczyk/Gospodarczyk (POL/POL, Skoda Fabia Rally2 evo) +4,6 s

3. Kristensson/Johansson (SWE/SWE, Hyundai i20 R5) +11,7 s

4. Torn/Pannas (EST/EST, Ford Fiesta Rally2) +19,0 s

5. Llarena/Fernandez (ESP/ESP, Skoda Fabia Rally2 evo) +22,7 s

6. Tempestini/Itu (ROU/ROU, Skoda Fabia Rally2 evo) +26,0 s

7. Chwietczuk/Syty (POL/POL, Skoda Fabia Rally2 evo) +32,5 s

8. Grzyb/Binięda (POL/POL, Skoda Fabia Rally2 evo) +38,0 s

9. Vaidotas Zala/Ilka Minor (LTU/AUT, Skoda Fabia Rally2 evo) +41,0 s

10. Mares/Bucha (CZE/CZE, Skoda Fabia Rally2 evo) +45,6 s







Marczyk wins
in Mikolajki

2022 ERC Calendar


Rally Serras de Fafe e Felgueiras


Azores Rallye


Rally Islas Canarias


ORLEN 78th Rally Poland


Rally Latvia


Rally di Roma Capitale


Barum Czech Rally Zlin