56 crews on the entry list

(12.09.2018) The organisers of PZM 75th Rally Poland shared some more key details of Polish ERC counter during press conference, which was held in Warsaw today. It is already known that as many as 56 crews will tackle fast, gravel Masurian stages. It is likely that ERC title will be decided in Poland and it is 100 percent sure that the name of 2018 Polish Rally Champion will be known when the rally comes to the end at Mikolajki Main Square on Sunday afternoon. The key title battle could not be missed by Aleksey Lukyanuk and Jakub Brzezinski, who are the main candidates to seal the European and Polish titles respectively.

- We are very glad, that Rally Poland will be the round of European championship for the 49th time. However, I would like to ensure every fan, that PZM keeps working to run both ERC counter and WRC round in Poland, just like we did in 2016 and 2017 seasons – said Michal Sikora, the president of Polish Automobile and Motorcycle Federation. This quote received enthusiastic reception among other guests of the pre-event press conference – Krzysztof Holowczyc, the Mayor of Mikolajki Piotr Jakubowski and Jakub Brzezinski – current leader of Polish Rally Championship. Just like in previous season, three-time Rally Poland winner Krzysztof Holowczyc will drive his Subaru Impreza as a course car.

The route of the rally was presented by Clerk of the Course - Krzysztof Maciejewski. Activities concerning safety during the event were also widely discussed. Holowczyc underlined that standards introduced in Rally Poland are of the same level as in the other countries and unexpected incidents appear everywhere. The subject of safety but in road traffic was introduced in connection with Safe Motorway campaign run by the sponsor of the rally – insurance company Compensa.

The number one of entry list is reserved for FIA ERC standings leaders – Aleksey Lukyanuk and Aleksey Arnautov. Russian crew is just a small step away from clinching the European Rally Championship title for the very first time in their career. Lukyanuk and Arnautov have already won three ERC rounds this season. They were fastest in Azores, Canary Islands and Italy. All in all, in six outings they managed to score as many as 149 points. Meanwhile, Bruno and Hugo Magalhaes have 36 points less than Russian duo, but Portuguese brothers are not going to compete in Poland. This means that two Alekseys need only one point to seal the championship title. There are 39 points to score in one ERC round, while only six best results count towards final classification.

Lukyanuk, as many other ERC regulars, will make his debut in Rally Poland. Another newcomers are Nikolay Griazin (Skoda Fabia R5, the winner of 27th Rally Rzeszow and Rally Elektrenai – two previous round of Polish Rally Championship), Jari Huttunen (Hyundai i20 R5, Korean brand’s junior driver), Norbert Herczig (Skoda Fabia R5, multiple Hungarian champion), Fabian Kreim (Skoda Fabia R5, two-time German champion), Chris Ingram (Skoda Fabia R5, ERC Junior U27 championship runner-up) and Paulo Nobre (Skoda Fabia R5), who has 25 WRC rounds under his belt.

Among these drivers Grzegorz Grzyb seems to be a real Rally Poland veteran. 2016 Polish Rally Champion is about to make his 15th Rally Poland outing. There is Rally Poland winner among the entrants too. It is Simone Tempestini, who won Rally Poland in Junior WRC back in 2015 and 2016 season. This year Tempestini will use RWD car – Fiat 124 Abarth.

PZM 75th Rally Poland will bring some epic battles in ERC youngster categories as well. There are eight drivers to compete in ERC Junior U28 championship and 11 competitors, who will chase ERC Junior U27 victory.

Mikolajki-based event will be Polish Rally Championship title-decider too. There are three drivers who still can win national championship before gravel battle gets underway. The top contender is of course Jakub Brzeziński - the leader of the standings. After scoring 146 points Brzezinski holds a healthy margin of 28 points, with 55 yet to score in final round of the season. Two another drivers who can beat Brzezinski are Grzegorz Grzyb (2nd place and 118 points) and 22-year old Mikołaj Marczyk (3rd place and 96 points).

Entry List FIA ERC - 12.09.2018
Entry List RSMP - 12.09.2018











PZM 76th Rally Poland - Newsfeed LEG 2

PZM 76th Rally Poland - Leg 2

2019 Calendar

21-23 March

Azores Airlines Rallye (Portugal)

02-04 May

Rally Islas Canarias (Spain)

24-26 May

Rally Liepāja (Latvia)

28-30 June

76th Rally Poland

19-21 July

Rally di Roma Capitale (Italy)

16-18 August

Barum Czech Rally Zlín

27-29 September

Cyprus Rally

08-10 November

Rally Hungary